Announcing new categories and judging process for PRINZ Awards

PRINZ Awards trophies

The Public Relations Institute of New Zealand (PRINZ) is excited to announce new categories and changes to the format and judging structure of the annual PRINZ Awards, now celebrating 47 years.

PRINZ Chief Executive, Elaine Koller says that while 2020 activities have been disrupted by the COVID-19 crisis, it has provided an opportunity to review the PRINZ offerings.

“As part of a wider strategic review of PRINZ activities, we’ve gone out to the industry and sought feedback on our activities from both members and non-members. As part of this process, many people generously shared feedback and ideas on the PRINZ Awards. We listened to their feedback and as a result have implemented some changes.”

PRINZ Awards Chief Judge, Kate Woodruffe FPRINZ says that the PRINZ Awards categories have been updated to better reflect the breadth of work being done in the industry.

The new PRINZ Awards categories are:

  • Corporate and Business Public Relations
  • Consumer or Customer Relations
  • Community Relations and Engagement
  • Financial Communications and Investor Relations
  • Government Relations and Public Affairs
  • Internal Communications
  • Issues, Crisis or Reputation Management
  • Marketing Communication
  • Experiential and Activation
  • Best Use of Media Relations
  • Best Use of Digital and Social Media
  • Best Influencer Campaign
  • Most Innovative Campaign
  • Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year
  • Paul Dryden Tertiary Award
  • PR In-house Team of the Year
  • PR Consultancy of the Year

“Entrants are now able to enter a particular piece of work, campaign or project into multiple categories at a reduced rate.”

In addition to the new categories, a new three-stage judging model will be implemented for all categories except the Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year, Paul Dryden Tertiary Award, PR In-house Team of the Year, and the PR Consultancy of the Year.

Woodruffe says that while PRINZ has always ensured that the judging panels comprise of local and international senior professionals from across the industry spectrum, the new three-stage model will make the overall judging process more robust, efficient and transparent.

“PRINZ has always had a highly credible panel of judges however introducing an additional stage in the judging panel ensures that an even wider range of industry professionals are involved in judging the industry’s top work. It’s important to us that as the preeminent industry awards, the PRINZ Awards remain relevant and aspirational.”

The submission period for awards has been extended and will open on 13 January 2021 and close on 23 February 2021. Late entries will be accepted to a final deadline of 3 March 2021.

Full descriptions of the categories, key dates, pricing and the three-stage judging process can be found here.

Related Articles