Finalists announced for PRINZ Awards 2023

prinz awards

Thirty two finalists have been named for this year’s Public Relations Institute (PRINZ) awards, out of a total of 113 entries across 18 categories.

More than 50 judges from across the profession selected the finalists, who are competing to receive gold, silver or bronze awards to be announced at a gala dinner on Friday 26 May in Auckland.

Now in its 49th year, the Awards acknowledge the best work of the previous calendar year by public relations and communications professionals across corporates, agencies, not for profit, and government.  

The Marketing Communication category attracted the most number of entries this year, reflecting a growing trend for public relations that integrate with broader marketing campaigns. 

More than 11 agencies entered the two ‘Agency of the Year’ categories.  One of the judges of the Medium to Large agencies, was Chris Savage, Australian business growth specialist and principal of The Savage Company.  He was named Mumbrella 2020 Industry Leader of the Year, covering the creative and marcomms industry.

He commented, “The entries for Medium to Large agencies showed the New Zealand PR agency industry to be performing at the very sharp end of global best practice. What impressed me most was the creativity, quality and effectiveness of the work. Simply outstanding. “

Joint Chief Judge Denise Mackay, Director of Communications, Engagement and Events at Te Puni Kōkiri, says all entries go through a rigorous judging process so the industry can be assured that the 32 finalists demonstrate the pinnacle of our profession.”  

Joint Chief Judge, Andrew Pirie, FPRINZ and Chair of the Spark Foundation, says:  “We were delighted to see a 30 per cent increase in award entries this year.  In evaluating these entries, the judges paid particular attention to some of the key attributes of high quality public relations programmes and campaigns: clear and measurable objectives, a strong strategy, and tangible measurement and evaluation. Those entries that were able to highlight these areas exceptionally well have been deserving of recognition by their industry peers.” 

Gold winners of all award categories are eligible for the coveted Supreme Award.

Winners will be announced at the PRINZ Awards Gala Dinner to be held at the Maritime Room, Viaduct Harbour, Auckland on Friday May 26th.  Tickets are available for purchase here.  PRINZ acknowledge the support of their loyal Awards sponsors Isentia, Robert Walters and Celebrity Speakers.

The 2023 PRINZ Awards campaign category finalists are as follows (in alphabetical order
by entry title, PRINZ member entrants listed)

  • A ‘Booster’ of Happiness | Kelly Grindle | Special PR
  • A ‘Mighty Achievement | Kelly Grindle | Special PR 
  • A bespoke campaign for a bespoke fridge | Liz Holt, Brianna Elder, Sean Brown | Mango Communications
  • AKL Open | Libby Middlebrook, Helen Twose | Auckland Airport 
  • Are you cut out for the Coast? | Aaron Rees | Development West Coast 
  • Bringing the sector together to build a better New Zealand | Maxine Glogau | Acumen 
  • Closing the Pay Gap – gathering support from New Zealanders to influence policy change| Cas Carter, Mihi Blake, Tilly van Eeden, Bee Stevenson | Mindthegap 
  • Doppelmayr: Establishing ropeways as a credible public transport solution for Aotearoa | Carolyn Kerr, Charlotte Jackson | Anthem 
  • Getting Kiwis on board with Jetstar | Kelly Grindle | Special PR 
  • GO! Cut waste | Aakanksha Mehta | Kiwi Property 
  • Have you heard what Bruce did? | Kelly Grindle | Special PR 
  • How Charlies honoured a Kiwi legend at the Black Clash | Kelly Grindle| Special PR 
  • HP – celebrating a landmark launch in a landmark location | Kirsten Blanchard, Renee Ji, Hayley Smith, Marissa Parr| Acumen 
  • Improving Powerco’s relationship with the Greytown community | Rochelle West | Powerco 
  • Let’s get to Synlait Safe | Josie Cochrane, Hannah Lynch, Emily Murphy, Jo Scott| Great Scott 
  • McCensus: understanding the crew to attract the new | Brianna Elder, Simon Kenny | Mango Communications | 
  • McDonald’s at Fieldays – The most successful sequel ever | Brianna Elder, Simon Kenny, Sean Brown | Mango Communications 
  • Shifting the dial on child abuse | Shae Skellern, Tegan Church, Jacky James |The Shine Collective 
  • Shotgun blast from the deep | Jessica Rowley, Sarah Fraser, Rebekah Parsons-King, Rory Newsam | NIWA 
  • Spark 5G Street Museum | Carolyn Kerr, Sarah Geel, Nalika Patel, Jack Whelan, Chanelle Nottle  | Anthem 
  • Te Kounga Paparangi – An intergenerational action plan for Ngāi Tahu to combat climate change | Nicki Tipa, Marcus Gibbs, Crisselda De Leon-Singson, Maisie Gray | Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu 
  • The right decision for future generations: Securing Ngāi Tahu representation on Environment Canterbury | Marcus Gibbs, Ross Pringle | Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu 
  • The road to restoring fluoridation and building back public trust | Vanessa Macfarlane |Wellington Water 
  • The Silent Night, a fundraising event that no goes to | Kelly Grindle | Special PR 
  • Vote Phil Mauger | Erin Jamieson, Emma Maciaszek | Convergence Communications & Marketing | 
  • Vote, or else: Orange Man’s effort to get Palmy to vote | Liana Mua, Greg Berry | Palmerston North City Council 
  • Vote 22 – New Plymouth District Council Local Election Campaign | Jacqueline Baker, Ben Kohlis, Aaron Boslem, Joni Ludlow, John MacDonald | New Plymouth District Council 
  • We are Whānau – New Zealand’s First National Blood Donor Week | Sandy Trigg, Asuka Burge, Lee Stace, Lucy Body | Network Communications 
  • You’re cooked – If you’re cooked stay off the stove | Kelley Toy  | Fire and Emergency New Zealand 

Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year Award Finalists

  • Emily Ding | One Plus One Communications
  • Jessica Chaplin | NZ Police
  • Kelsey Schutte | University of Otago

Related Articles